Flying Fish

inspired by nature, fueled by irony, life and art in Alaska

and so it goes

I turned 50 on June 16th. I went from years of being 35 to suddenly being 50 years old! What the hell? All that existential angsty stuff just caught up with me. It’s not like I’m suddenly wearing a blue tinted curly hair do or un able to do things I could do yesterday but I am overly sensitive to references to age. I do hope I get over it, I find myself annoyingly ageist. Suddenly it’s not like everyone is acting/being so young, the tables have turned. Sheesh. Get over it, you still aren’t the center of the universe no matter your age!

On the artsy craftsy front, I’ve been making clothes ala Alabama Chanin. I bought all 3 of the books at 40 something dollars a pop, I should be doing more than looking at the lovely pictures. The basis of the books and the clothing is hand sewn cotton jersey. T-shirt material made into lovely clothing. The first thing I made is a double layer skirt with reverse applique circles, pink on the outside, blue and grey on the inside. Now I’m working on a grey dress… I’m thinking single layer but it’s pretty clingy and looks more like a night gown or prison shift. I was imagining dandelion seed heads embroidered on it… still pretty damn grey.

Also earrings are selling well at both Extreme Dreams and the bookstore.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The Sartorialist

inspired by nature, fueled by irony, life and art in Alaska

From the Silicon to the Tanana Valley

inspired by nature, fueled by irony, life and art in Alaska

Stonekettle Station

inspired by nature, fueled by irony, life and art in Alaska

Flying Fish

inspired by nature, fueled by irony, life and art in Alaska

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

